Home > Games, Tera > Under My Skin

Under My Skin

For a week I was out of the loop and unable to play anything, even iPad games. So after returning home my first stop on the way home was to pick up Diablo 3. This post isn’t about D3, it’s about Tera. A game that initially I wasn’t too keen on and one that I was convinced that I would be ready to drop-kick to the curb and move on to the next new shiny. However, as I started to grasp the idiosyncrasies of the game something started to happen; I genuinely started to like Tera.

What is it about this game that has me so enthralled? To be honest, I don’t really know. The leveling and quest paths are such a grind-fest. They can be monotonous and rote with little to differentiate themselves from other contemporaries of the mmo genre. The zones are not as open and expansive as I would like and most of the time you get a feeling that you’re enclosed within a maze with no ability to diverge from the path to explore. The chat channels are filled with trolls lambasting on the failures of Tera and hyping the virtues of WoW, or they’re discussing the omnipotent abilities of Chuck Norris, or my favorite so far citing anything from reddit.

So what is it that keeps me logging back into Arborea? Perhaps it’s the discovery of something completely new. Of late I have been discovering the nuances that makes your character more unique by purchasing glyphs. This shouldn’t be a fresh idea since they are almost comparable to WoW’s glyph usage in that they modify and improve existing skills. For me to discover this at level 29 after they have been available since level 20 has been an eyeopener. However, more than anything it has been the story line quest chains that have me coming back for more. These story quests became apparent shortly after I had made level 20 and got into my first dungeon. Since then I’ve done the quest chain that led to the second available dungeon and am now on the chain for the third dungeon. What I’ve discovered in these story line chains is something far deeper than what I saw in SWTOR class quests and for me hearkened back to vanilla WoW when you would have to do quests to unlock your access to end-game dungeons. As I’ve done these quests I’m discovering more about the world that I’m a part of and my role within that world and for once in a long time I feel that my participation in this world matters. Whether that’s a sentiment that’ll stay with me until I reach max level remains to be seen, but it’s a journey that I really look forward to discovering.

This pose by the fire cracked me up. I don’t know what’s up with the semi-squat. 😛

Categories: Games, Tera
  1. 05/23/2012 at 12:52 am

    What server do you play on?

  2. 05/23/2012 at 8:36 am

    I play on Dragonfall server. When a RL friend and I were looking at the server list we found that this was the most populated PvE server. For me that was important because in the past we’ve tried PvP servers but wouldn’t last on them largely because we normally wouldn’t join a large guild, so we lacked safety in numbers. On top of that I’m a late night player so being able to play with RL friends is suspect. Instead of having to worry about the distractions and focus on the game is why we selected Dragonfall to be our home. A bunch of carebears, I know, but I don’t understand the PvP implementation in Tera. I guess based on what little I’ve looked into is that like any other mmo the PvP is for additional gear and item rewards, but how that’s integrated into the story and lore I’m uncertain.

  3. 05/23/2012 at 1:35 pm

    I play on the pvp server Jagged Coast. Not really a fan of open world pvp but I didn’t have much choice because the gf had already decided on the server and the guild for both of us lol. So far there are no reward or penalties for engaging in pvp(other than dying when you lose a battle). If you are in a guild war, then the opposing guild gets a point for each time they kill you, but the only reward for getting points and winning guild wars is bragging rights. I couldn’t really tell you how it is tied into the lore either atm.

    I might have to pop in on Dragonfall some time and say hello! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

