Home > Games, Tera > Tera – Additional screenshots

Tera – Additional screenshots

Tera is a gorgeous game! As a new blogger I often forget to stop and take screenshots of the environment that I appreciate. In the few that I post below I hope to satisfy your interest in the latest addition to the mmo block.

Here is my archer on his mount and riding through the Valley of Titans

While riding through an area this spot really got my interest up in the lore behind Tera. Who created those giant stone titan statues, and when did they do it? These questions has me excited for the future of the game. When the game devs talk about fights against BAMs, and I see stone statues of this size I can’t help but wonder if battles on par with Shadow of the Colossus is inevitable. That would be awesome!

Hitching a ride between towns

When travelling between towns that are of great distance between each other you can opt to ride a winged horse. On a beautiful sunny day such as this how can I resist?

This race creeps me out

In Tera the flippn’ Elin are of a smaller race that has the appearance of prepubescent girls. This creeps me out on all sorts of levels. Unfortunately my OCD to have a class of each race allowed me to rationalize creating an Elin sorceress. Which sounded pretty cool until my 9 yo son came in to my office to see what I was doing and caught me halfway through the creation of that alt. Although I had stammered and backed out of that creation I’ve since returned to finishing the creation of that monstrosity and now have a sorceress named Lithp, whose still on the backburner while I focus on my main. Anywho, I mention all of this just to point out that Elin that’s standing to my immediate right in the provided screenshot. Ugh!

Categories: Games, Tera Tags: , ,
  1. 05/11/2012 at 9:48 am

    I agree that Elin are stupid creepy. When I first saw them in the character creator I thought “Oh they’re so cute!” And then I realized how little clothing they had on… It’s also unsettling how they sway back and forth while standing still, it just looks… unnatural? Can jail-bait furries look natural?. I don’t know if I could bring myself to play one

    • 05/11/2012 at 10:50 am

      Yes, it’s a tough call. There’s always a level of sexualization in mmos, but in Tera that level is turned up to eleven. This shouldn’t be a surprise though. To the layman of Tera the art style is still easily identifiable as being heavily influenced by Asian pop culture. My first disturbance with the Elin came when I was searching for the different races on youtube to see videos of them. One video that popped up from that search made my hairs stand on end. What’s funny is doing a google search on “sexualization asian mmo” brings up many top links in regard to Tera and GW2.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

